Full Moons and Black Cats

Having a full moon and Friday the 13th occur on the same date is a sporadic event.  The last one fell on August 13, 2011. The next Friday the 13th full moon will be on August 13, 2049.  As you might imagine, I am writing this blog post on the day following this somewhat rare event.  Hey, I had to give myself a day to be sure that I would be around to author it!

Full moons have been linked with increased birth rates, spikes in crime, upticks in accidents, and all sorts of social pandemonium.  Yet studies in respected journals of advanced learning have repudiated the “fact” numerous times.  In the meantime, Friday the 13th has been linked with all types of misfortune and mishap.  Again, the scholarly journals question the very concept of bad luck, with studies unable to substantiate its validity.  If I set aside the world of academia and research; yesterday should have delivered a double whammy to us all.  Speaking for me, it did not happen; and I am disappointed!

I took it upon myself to stand out on the backyard deck and stare up at the full moon.  At the same time, I allowed my mother-in-law’s black cat to cross my path repeatedly.  I felt the side of my face.  It was beyond doubt that I was not in the process of turning into a werewolf.  The deck had not suddenly collapsed under me.  I did not hear the phone ringing with news that the IRS was conducting a full seven-year audit of my tax filings.  I looked down at the cat, who I swear was chuckling at me!

Somehow I thought that the convergence of superstition and folklore would yield more dramatic events.  I kept waiting for breaking news of cataclysmic natural events, civil insurrection, and the rise of the zombie apocalypse.  I checked CNN news this morning, only to find the usual stories of political corruption, celebrity misdeeds, and foreign uncertainty.  It was not a newsworthy night by any means!

Hours later, I sit at the keyboard asking myself why I feel a sense of disappointment and betrayal.  Last night was just any other night by most definitions.  In retrospection, I realize that I allowed myself to get caught up in all of the hype behind the event.  Do I really believe that the full moon somehow uses its gravitational pull to alter the fluids in my body; causing me to perform irrational acts?  Hardly!  Do I believe that there is a mysterious force out there that dictates my fortunes through some type of supernatural lottery?  Not at all!

As a species, we have a tendency to relinquish what we think is control to mysterious forces well beyond comprehension.  In fact, that which we truly relinquish is responsibility.  It is all too easy to ascribe our actions to a nefarious influence outside us.  It is all too convenient to blame our misfortunes on random fates.  Truth be told, all we are doing is shifting the blame and reassigning the responsibility.

We are all responsible for our actions and their subsequent results.  This holds true for the bad we cause as well as the good we create.  As quickly as you should kick yourself, you should also pat yourself on the back.  As human beings, we have the capacity to be destructive both in word and deed.  But once we take ownership of, and responsibility for, our actions; we discover quite pleasantly that the power to sow the seeds of good is uniquely ours.

Luck does not occur; it is created.  There is a famous quote that asserts, “The harder I work, the luckier I am.”  Beyond effort, luck is also the result of the law of attraction.  It amazes me how many happy people are able to inexplicably have good things fall into their lives.  That last statement is presumptive upon still being able to find a happy person in this world.  Luck is not a tangible object; rather it is the result of your mind set.

As I bring this essay to a close, I am no longer disappointed that last night was a bust in terms of calamity.  In fact, it turned out to be everything I should have expected it to be.  By nature, I have a burning need to find good in everyone and everything.  I like to believe that my daily words and deeds serve to better the lives of others.  I am confident that I have the positive mental outlook and inner happiness to attract all that is good in life.  None of this is said out of arrogance.  Believe me; it took years for me to find my happy place.  In fact, I found it sooner once I admitted to myself that there truly was a happy place to be found!

I have presented a hypothesis that happiness and good fortune is yours to be had.  There are no outer forces lurking about, waiting to bring chaos and misery into your life.  There are no superstition-based goons out there, waiting to rob you of your joy.  Inside of you are the keys to happiness and luck.  Like any good scientist, I now need to prove out my hypothesis, so that it can become a law of nature.  That said; look for my blog post on August 13, 2049.  I will let you know if anything has changed in my new thinking.  Somehow I am certain that I will still be a happy go-lucky soul!

About Jerry V. Dollar, Author, Humorist, Observer of the Human Condition

When not trekking around the globe, Jerry Dollar can be found in Colorado Springs, CO where he lives with his wife Robbi. Besides an affinity for writing and travel; he is also an avid bodybuilder, a very prolific reader, and an enthusiastic observer of the human condition. Jerry has published two books which are available on: Lulu, Amazon, Kindle, Nook, and IBook. "Announcing a Flight Delay" is a hilarious recap of the author's experiences as a million mile flyer. "A Dollar's Worth" is a collection of observations on the human condition, which originally appeared as blog posts. Dr. Dollar has served in various senior executive management capacities over the past 25 years. He has previously worked within the healthcare, insurance, software, and several other high technology industries. Jerry is recognized for his expertise in creating the foundations for emerging organizations to succeed in complex sales environments. He is also well known for his leadership in guiding technology companies through rapid growth phases. Jerry speaks five languages and has conducted business in over 70 countries on six continents. He holds particular expertise in the Latin American and Western European geographic areas. Dr. Dollar holds a BA in International Affairs, a BA in Spanish, an MBA in Marketing, and a PhD in Organizational Development. He has authored numerous professional articles, various training courses, and has conducted seminars and conferences around the world.
This entry was posted in Blessings, Human Experience, Humanity, Humor, Inspirational, Moon, Motivational, Nature, Self Actualization, Self-Realization, Spirituality, Superstition, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

