The Return of the Curse of the Writer

I struggled with the title for this particular blog post.  No matter what I came up with; it seemed to read like the title of a B-grade horror movie from the 1950’s.  That is what happens when you visit you blog site and realize that you have not entered a new post in over four months!

Over the past few months, I have been distracted with respect to my writing.  About two weeks ago, I happened to see a paperback copy of my book “Announcing a Flight Delay” sitting on the end table next to the couch.  It struck me that I had a manuscript residing on my laptop hard drive that was over half completed.  It was quickly apparent that I missed my chosen craft in the worst way!

The past dozen and a half weeks have been a whirlwind tour of emotion and distraction.  My wife has had some health issues that I was willing and indeed proud to support her with.  Work became intense as deals derailed, fired up, sputtered out, and then reignited.  It did not take long for me to realize that I was getting wound up too tightly.  I buried myself in a series of distractions as part of the relaxation process.  As a result, my writing productivity suffered.  Actually, it did not suffer; it simply died on the vine!

I opened up the manuscript file on the PC.  The fact that the last update to the file occurred six months earlier was not wasted on me.  As the Word document opened up, I was relatively certain that I smelled dust.  Over the course of two weeks, all of it at night or on the weekends; I managed to complete the manuscript.  Now, I am proud to say that my third book “At the Top of the Ladder; A Collection of Quotes to Lead By” has been published by Lulu Press!

So enthused was I by my publication accomplishment that I decided to launch an author’s website for myself.  Over the course of a weekend, I was able to design, construct, publish, and launch my literary internet presence!  Now you can visit www.JerryDollarAuthor.com to learn more about me and my works, including this blog.  It was right after I hit the publish button on my website development tool that I realized by blog was on life support, not having received any attention since last June!

That brings me to the keyboard at the present moment.  I have spent the day reflecting on what happened to my writing journey over the past few months.  Unfortunately, I took a fork on the path that lead me away from who I am.  It is only today that I can state that I am back on that path; after having spent to much time in the wilderness!  Today I can once again proudly proclaim that I am a writer!  I can also proclaim that I am cursed.

Many of you, I am sure, remember receiving those writing assignments in middle school.  You loathed having to take pen to blank paper, you found excuses not to begin writing, and you struggled with ideas on what topic to address.  I was quite the opposite.  Within minutes of being assigned an essay; I was already creating outlines in my mind, crafting witty and engaging opening sentences, and sculpting authoritative yet congenial conclusions.  Yes, even at the age of thirteen; I knew I was destined to be a writer!

Somewhere before embarking upon a dozen or so trains of thought; I mentioned the curse of the writer,  You see, we are not built the same way as most people.  We have a burning desire to create.  Our canvas is the blank page, our palette is our thoughts, and our brush is made up of our words!  We become restless when we cannot craft a tale.  Our minds are either completely blank or there are so many thoughts flying through our brain that we fail to keep up with all of them.  Some would say that we are cursed!

However, the true curse does not lie within who we are.  Rather, the curse lies within denying who we are.  That has been the case with me for the past four months.  It took seeing a copy of a book I wrote and published three years ago to reawaken me to who I am.  It only took a few hours to recapture my birthright; I am a writer!

All of us are blessed with unique gifts.  Most never discover these gifts or spend a lifetime denying and ignoring them.  A fortunate few find their true purpose in life.  I have been given a second chance to reclaim my essence.  For those of you who would write, paint, teach, sing, or dance; stand on the rooftop and scream out to the world who you are.  Live your dreams and seize your happiness!  As for me, it is time to finish that fourth manuscript that has grown cobwebs on my laptop!

About Jerry V. Dollar, Author, Humorist, Observer of the Human Condition

When not trekking around the globe, Jerry Dollar can be found in Colorado Springs, CO where he lives with his wife Robbi. Besides an affinity for writing and travel; he is also an avid bodybuilder, a very prolific reader, and an enthusiastic observer of the human condition. Jerry has published two books which are available on: Lulu, Amazon, Kindle, Nook, and IBook. "Announcing a Flight Delay" is a hilarious recap of the author's experiences as a million mile flyer. "A Dollar's Worth" is a collection of observations on the human condition, which originally appeared as blog posts. Dr. Dollar has served in various senior executive management capacities over the past 25 years. He has previously worked within the healthcare, insurance, software, and several other high technology industries. Jerry is recognized for his expertise in creating the foundations for emerging organizations to succeed in complex sales environments. He is also well known for his leadership in guiding technology companies through rapid growth phases. Jerry speaks five languages and has conducted business in over 70 countries on six continents. He holds particular expertise in the Latin American and Western European geographic areas. Dr. Dollar holds a BA in International Affairs, a BA in Spanish, an MBA in Marketing, and a PhD in Organizational Development. He has authored numerous professional articles, various training courses, and has conducted seminars and conferences around the world.
This entry was posted in Blessings, Human Experience, Humor, Inspirational, Motivational, Self Actualization, Self-Realization, Spirituality, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Return of the Curse of the Writer

  1. Sandy Penny says:

    Hey there. I have a blog called Write and Market with WritingMuse. If you’d like me to use this post with a link back to your blog, I will be happy to do that. Thanks for all you put into sharing with other writers. http://writeandmarket.blogspot.com/ Or I can put a link to one of your books on Amazon. Let me know. Thanks.

    Cordially, Sandy Penny

Leave a Reply

