Driven in a New Direction

My daily routine includes a 120-mile round trip commute to and from work. Some might consider this to be a burden; but I actually enjoy the time behind the wheel.  On the way into the office; I am able to sort out all of the tasks to be accomplished during the day, preparing myself to wow the healthcare world.  On the way back home; I am able to let go of the day’s business challenges, preparing myself for an evening of relaxation.  The two and half hours of combined windshield time allow the mind to flow effortlessly!

By the very definition of being a writer; I am constantly observing the world around me, most specifically human behavior.  There is no better place to witness both the best and the worst of humanity than behind the wheel of an automobile!  From the vantage point of the steering wheel; I have witnessed numerous acts of kindness, as well as too many deeds of malice!  Over the years as a motorist, I have come to realize that the roadway is a reflection of society as a whole.

Traveling on the interstate almost daily can be a test of nerve and resolve!  My favorite ride on this high-speed asphalt amusement park is the “Blind Spot Coaster.”  This is the person who drives right in that magic zone where they are invisible in both your rearview and side view mirrors.  You speed up, they speed up!  You slow down, they slow down!  It quickly becomes apparent that they have no mind of their own and live only to follow the actions of others!  I have to imagine you have run into this type of person before.

Then there is the non-stop thrill of the “Speed and Slow Go-Round.”  This is the vehicle that comes up behind you at a high rate of speed.  The driver lingers on your back bumper for a moment and tries to push you to accelerate.  When you do not comply, they use a single finger to inform you that you are number one; and then they fly around you.  The automobile quickly swerves into your lane and proceeds to slow down!  If you have the audacity to try to pass them, they floor the gas pedal!  Before you know it, you are playing the villain in “Blind Spot Coaster!”

By far my favorite highway game is the ever pulse-quickening “Bumper Sticker Hypocrite Twist.”  This involves a family style vehicle such as a late-model mid-range minivan.  The driver attempts to emulate their favorite NASCAR idol by tailgating, passing closely, darting in and out of traffic, and unexpectedly braking and accelerating for no apparent reason.  This is the vehicle that invariably displays a very large “Baby On Board” bumper sticker!  Now we know where Hollywood stuntmen get their beginning; in the car seat with an overly aggressive mother at the wheel!

My father managed to teach three of his children how to drive; all without having to ingest sedatives or seek professional counseling.  His credo was always, “Drive defensively!”  He imparted paternal wisdom with his tips on how to hope for the best, yet prepare for the worst on the roadways!  In short, we were taught to anticipate the vehicular stupidity of those around us!

I have taken this philosophy one step further as age has caught up to me.  I now prefer to “drive defensively and courteously!”  I am the driver who always has one eye on his mirrors; looking out for those who apparently cannot look out for themselves.  I manage to refrain from flying the one-finger salute at those who cross me.  In fact, I go out of my way to brake early, let merging traffic enter in front of me, and wave the other person on when we tie for the right-of-way at a stop sign!

For the record, please allow me to state that I am by no means a car-driving choirboy!  I have been known to slow down a bit below the speed limit when somebody is riding my bumper.  I have also sped up slightly to keep somebody from darting out in front of me.  These episodes of motoring mischief have never endangered me, my passengers, or the other person.  I guess I felt I had to simply impart a lesson unto them!

Over the years I seem to have become more mellow on the road.  It is rare when I feel compelled to teach an errant driver a lesson.  I tend to allow others to cut in front of me or take an undeserved right-of-way.  Perhaps I have simply learned that I need to appreciate the beauty of the journey rather than worry about how quickly I get to my destination.  The bottom line is; I have always gotten to the destination, so why not enjoy the drive?

Ask yourself two quick questions.  First, how many one finger salutes did you receive on the road last week?  Second, how may of those salutes did you fly at somebody else?  If the answer was more than “none;” perhaps it is time for you to be driven in a new direction!

About Jerry V. Dollar, Author, Humorist, Observer of the Human Condition

When not trekking around the globe, Jerry Dollar can be found in Colorado Springs, CO where he lives with his wife Robbi. Besides an affinity for writing and travel; he is also an avid bodybuilder, a very prolific reader, and an enthusiastic observer of the human condition. Jerry has published two books which are available on: Lulu, Amazon, Kindle, Nook, and IBook. "Announcing a Flight Delay" is a hilarious recap of the author's experiences as a million mile flyer. "A Dollar's Worth" is a collection of observations on the human condition, which originally appeared as blog posts. Dr. Dollar has served in various senior executive management capacities over the past 25 years. He has previously worked within the healthcare, insurance, software, and several other high technology industries. Jerry is recognized for his expertise in creating the foundations for emerging organizations to succeed in complex sales environments. He is also well known for his leadership in guiding technology companies through rapid growth phases. Jerry speaks five languages and has conducted business in over 70 countries on six continents. He holds particular expertise in the Latin American and Western European geographic areas. Dr. Dollar holds a BA in International Affairs, a BA in Spanish, an MBA in Marketing, and a PhD in Organizational Development. He has authored numerous professional articles, various training courses, and has conducted seminars and conferences around the world.
This entry was posted in Blessings, Human Experience, Humor, Inspirational, Motivational, Nostalgia, Self Actualization, Self-Realization, Spirituality, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Driven in a New Direction

  1. Connye says:

    I enjoyed this post. Its voice is authentic and echoes my own experience as a long-distance commuter, a role I shed and never picked up again. I smiled to think of you sorting through the day to come and letting go of the day just ended, and I understand the tendency to mellow as a driver over time. I still “feel the need for speed,” but I don’t indulge unless the highway is empty and I am alone. Regarding those digital displays of dexterity, I rarely offend but am often offended as a consequence of having become so mellow as to seem tiresome to others. Thanks for the memories!

Leave a Reply

