Good Moon Rising

This evening I was standing out on the deck when I noticed the extraordinary luminescence of the moon!  The eerie silvery cast of light across the backyard made for a surreal landscape.  Looking up into the southern skies, I saw the familiar bright orb casting its magnificent rays towards me.

Looking at some of the darker features on the face of the moon; I performed some quick calculations in my mind.  By simple estimation, I have lived through 678 full moons in my lifetime!  Why that thought crept into my brain was not readily apparent at first.  Little did I know the magnitude of the spiritual connection I was about to make!

The moon has existed as a celestial satellite to our planet for longer that human eyes have existed.  It has served as a loyal neighbor to Earth.  Minds far more scientifically gifted than mine have estimated the age of the moon at 4.5 billion years.  My head aches when I try to put my brain cells around that number.  In light of this cosmic fossil’s age, my fifty-two years seem like a blink in time!

The moon is fully laden with a timeless myriad of fact and myth. The Ancient Fon culture of northwest Africa attribute the moon as the Goddess of the Night and spiritual mother of mankind; she is known as Mawu.  The western culture went so far as to give each full moon its own distinct name; ranging from the Wolf Moon to the more familiar Harvest Moon.  The Aztec, Hindu, Roman, Greek, Maori, Inuit, Japanese, Mayan, and Chinese cultures have also attributed supernatural characteristics to the moon.  Even 3,000 years ago, the Sumerians built temples and appointed high priests to honor Sin, their chosen sacred name for the moon.

Fast-forwarding to the past two hundred or so years in this country; a plethora of moon-related stories have been promulgated.  We have had yarns woven about devil-like creatures who lived beneath the surface of the barren orb.  The “man on the moon” was a popular notion at the end of the 19th and beginning of the 20th Centuries.  Jules Verne and Pink Floyd both took of us to the moon; probably the only linkage they will ever share!  Even today’s high-technology, instant gratification culture holds the moon in the highest of esteem.  Google “moon” and sit back as you are inundated with over 1 billion results in an excruciatingly slow 0.18 seconds!

From the cradle to the present moment, the moon has touched my life in one fashion or another.  I laid in my crib wide-eyed as I envisioned the cow jumping over the moon.  By the way, what did the plate ever see in the spoon?  In my late teens, I was mesmerized by 007 in Moonraker!  But at this point in my life, my old friend the moon has taken on a more profound meaning.

Scientists, through a complex series of calculations and regression algorithms have determined that some 107 billion people have lived on this planet since the earliest humans emerged into the moonlight.  Numerous sources cite the current world population at just over 7 billion.  The implications are staggering.  Tonight when I looked up at the moon, I shared a common vision with over 100 million souls who preceded me.  Assuming half the planet is in darkness at any given time; I may have shared tonight’s full moon with some 3.5 million sets of eyes!

Lovers, locked in passion’s embrace, have shared these full moons together.  Children have stared in awe at the heavenly orb, dreams of their desired futures forming.  The elderly have relived cherished memories, triggered by the remembrance of past full moons.  Poets have crafted their words of inspiration in tribute to this celestial goddess.  Countless individuals have pondered their very existence, bathed in the silvery rays of the moon.  Laughter has been shared and tears have flowed in the presence of this seemingly cold, emotionless, and remote sphere.

When I gaze at the moon, I am sharing all of the joy, aspirations, failures, challenges, sadness, exultation, reverence, and love that every soul before me has felt.  When I stare at the shimmery silver surface of our celestial neighbor; I am potentially connecting with millions of individuals; for a moment sharing their collective hope and dreams.  When the moon bathes me in her healing rays, I am partaking in a ritual that millions more will know long after my bones have turned to dust.  In short, I am connecting with the past, present, and future of all humanity.

Tonight marks yet another full moon in a timeless cycle.  If you have the opportunity, look up into the sky and study the moon.  Feel the rhythm of this wonderful symphony we call humanity.  Allow yourself to be renewed and acknowledge that we are all intimately connected across the fabric of time.  As for me, I will meet you on the moon!

About Jerry V. Dollar, Author, Humorist, Observer of the Human Condition

When not trekking around the globe, Jerry Dollar can be found in Colorado Springs, CO where he lives with his wife Robbi. Besides an affinity for writing and travel; he is also an avid bodybuilder, a very prolific reader, and an enthusiastic observer of the human condition. Jerry has published two books which are available on: Lulu, Amazon, Kindle, Nook, and IBook. "Announcing a Flight Delay" is a hilarious recap of the author's experiences as a million mile flyer. "A Dollar's Worth" is a collection of observations on the human condition, which originally appeared as blog posts. Dr. Dollar has served in various senior executive management capacities over the past 25 years. He has previously worked within the healthcare, insurance, software, and several other high technology industries. Jerry is recognized for his expertise in creating the foundations for emerging organizations to succeed in complex sales environments. He is also well known for his leadership in guiding technology companies through rapid growth phases. Jerry speaks five languages and has conducted business in over 70 countries on six continents. He holds particular expertise in the Latin American and Western European geographic areas. Dr. Dollar holds a BA in International Affairs, a BA in Spanish, an MBA in Marketing, and a PhD in Organizational Development. He has authored numerous professional articles, various training courses, and has conducted seminars and conferences around the world.
This entry was posted in Humor, Inspirational, Moon, Motivational, Self-Realization, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good Moon Rising

  1. re: what did the plate ever see in the spoon? She liked his silver lining, and he thought she was a real dish! (I married a man named Spoon, so I get comments on that quote all the time)
    Another great article Jerry.

Leave a Reply

