The Dragon on the Ring

It has been just shy of a month since my wife Robbi and I emptied our storage space.  I had taken a senior management position with a health care center in rural southwest Idaho.  Unexpectedly, we found ourselves making the move back home to Colorado.  We moved in with my mother and the majority of our life’s possessions ended up in an eight by twelve-foot cinder block-lined storage space.

Now living in our own place, somewhat to my mother’s relief; we have spent three weeks living amongst monolithic piles of boxes.  As we have found the time after work or on the weekends; most of these boxes have been opened and our prior life has been restored to us.  Christmas has come early, as the two of us have discovered items that had been all but forgotten.  Such was my case last week as I opened a box labeled “Jerry-Bedroom.”

At the bottom of the cardboard sarcophagus was a small wooden jewelry case.  I opened the cherry wood lid and was thrilled by what was dormantly residing in it!  I slipped the silver ring onto my finger slowly, enjoying all the facets of the moment.  Looking down at my extended hand, I took in every detail of the dragon inlaid into a sea of black enamel.  The proud head angled upward, the long tail curled down under the body, and the red coral-encrusted wing all called out to my very inner essence!

Coral has long been honored as a symbol of wisdom.  Used as a talisman, it has historically protected the wearer against evil spirits.  I remember first spotting this treasure in a well-lit display case at a specialty store in a small Colorado mountain town.  Amazingly enough, this entire store was devoted to the dragon!  Whether it was a t-shirt, a key ring, or a coffee mug; every single item was emblazoned with a dragon of some sort.  I have not necessarily been a life-long dragon enthusiast; but on that particular day my dragon ring and I walked out the store’s door together, destined to be life-long companions.

Over the years, I have become increasingly devoted to the chivalric ideal.  My childhood love of the King Arthur sagas evolved into the pursuit of the gentlemanly ideal.  Today I find myself the Knight Commander of the Chivalric Order of La Mancha.  I am also a Knight Chevalier in the Order of St. Isodore of Seville and a Knight Magistral in the Order of Nuestra Senora Santa Maria de Buenos Aires.  Finally, I have had my named entered into the rolls of the Knights Templar of Tours.  Yes, I also have a collection of replica medieval swords!  No, I do not run around wearing a role-playing costume!

I cannot imagine what possessed me to pack away that special ring as we were leaving Idaho.  It has been a cherished part of who I am, and yet in the rush of our move I had stashed it away.  Since finding my old friend about a week and a half ago, I have begun gracing my right ring finger with this majestic image of the dragon.

Needless to say, a fair number of people have taken notice of my new adornment.  After I explain the story behind buying the ring, the same question seems to be asked.  “Why a dragon?”  I always explain that I cannot be a knight without having a dragon to slay.  In my case, the dragon was vanquished and then exiled to spend eternity on my ring.  The response I get ranges from polite laughter to a bewildered or puzzled look!

This past week has been a period of pleasant reflection.  I have been forced to ponder the same question asked of me recently.  “Why a dragon?”  I do not have an obsession with fantasy creatures.  I do not have a damsel in distress to save; I released her from the evil tower eight years ago and married her.  I am relatively sure that I am not a time traveler, unexpectedly transported to this point in history from 14th Century Europe!  No, the answer is much simpler than most of us could imagine.

The dragon on the ring simply serves as a visual and spiritual reminder of who I am and what I stand for.  I believe in the basic good to be found within every person I am honored to meet.  I stand for those who cannot stand for themselves.  I live every day to inspire the world through word and deed.  My reward for this effort?  I go to sleep every night, hoping that I have touched at least one human being and inspired them to better their life.  I arise every morning with the challenge of finding that one person that I will touch!

What about you?  What do you stand for?  Do your words and deeds better those around you.  Are you willing to stand up for what is right, simply because it is right?  What do you proudly wear on your ring?  If you like, I will gladly give you the name of that little shop in the Colorado mountains!

About Jerry V. Dollar, Author, Humorist, Observer of the Human Condition

When not trekking around the globe, Jerry Dollar can be found in Colorado Springs, CO where he lives with his wife Robbi. Besides an affinity for writing and travel; he is also an avid bodybuilder, a very prolific reader, and an enthusiastic observer of the human condition. Jerry has published two books which are available on: Lulu, Amazon, Kindle, Nook, and IBook. "Announcing a Flight Delay" is a hilarious recap of the author's experiences as a million mile flyer. "A Dollar's Worth" is a collection of observations on the human condition, which originally appeared as blog posts. Dr. Dollar has served in various senior executive management capacities over the past 25 years. He has previously worked within the healthcare, insurance, software, and several other high technology industries. Jerry is recognized for his expertise in creating the foundations for emerging organizations to succeed in complex sales environments. He is also well known for his leadership in guiding technology companies through rapid growth phases. Jerry speaks five languages and has conducted business in over 70 countries on six continents. He holds particular expertise in the Latin American and Western European geographic areas. Dr. Dollar holds a BA in International Affairs, a BA in Spanish, an MBA in Marketing, and a PhD in Organizational Development. He has authored numerous professional articles, various training courses, and has conducted seminars and conferences around the world.
This entry was posted in Humor, Inspirational, Motivational, Self-Realization, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Dragon on the Ring

  1. OL Shepp says:

    Jerry, I do believe that you have found one human to touch today. Thank you for writing from your heart.
    I too, wear a piece of jewelry that represents my soul. Though no dragons are on board; I have one stone for each of my children, a horse, a strawberry flower, the sun & moon and several music notes.

    Jerry, I would like to add that knowing who you are is only half of the ‘human quest’ . The remainder of life’s journey requires finding respect for ourselves. Loving ourselves. Okay, so this is beginning to sound like a rant, I’ll stop there.

    I do see that you have said this in your writing, more or less. And most all writers have mastered this feat, because of the selfish demands of a writing career.
    I look forward to reading your previous posts.

  2. I genuinely enjoy examining on this internet site , it contains wonderful posts . “For Brutus is an honourable man So are they all, all honourable men.” by William Shakespeare.

  3. Excellent piece Jerry! Are you sure you weren’t transported??

  4. Daron Henson says:

    “The Dragon on the Ring” is very interesting. I do not usually write in 1st person, however, the style suits you well. I could not determine if it was fiction or nonfiction, but whichever it was it was very well-written.

Leave a Reply

