Return to Sender

Driving along, windows down and hound dog regally perched in the back seat; I decided to turn on the radio.  Much to my delight, this particular station was playing a block of Elvis songs.  Having just sung along to “Jailhouse Rock” at the top of my lungs, I eagerly awaited the next number.  For a moment I mused at the thought that my singing was indeed worthy of a jail sentence.  Let’s put it this way; a bullfrog has a better chance of a record deal than I do!

The first few notes that came through the speakers placed a smile upon my face.  This was early Elvis at its best!  It did not take long for me to begin verbally slaying the lyrics of “Return to Sender.”  The year was 1962 and love unfulfilled was a popular theme.  The effects of the Fifties were still felt across the country and a sense of prosperity and well-being permeated society.  The innocence of young love was being broadcast from AM stations coast-to-coast!

As I listened to the plight of the poor postman, having to bring all of those letters back to “The King,” my thoughts turned to writing.  I have spent the majority of my adult life trying to ignore my passion for the written word and my insatiable drive to tell a tale.  I began my first science fiction epic at the age of twelve.  It was James Bond and Flash Gordon rolled into one spacesuit.  Of course, there was the alien femme fatale and the usual assortment of evil intergalactic villains.  It never made it to the New York Times Bestseller List.  In fact, it never made it past five pages of adolescent scribbling in a tattered spiral notebook!

College came and went entirely too fast; and I was soon on the corporate career track.  Three daughters blessed me with the joys of fatherhood, jobs came and went, and I traveled the globe as a senior executive.  From time to time I would find myself longing to write, but there was always a handy excuse not to.  I was the upwardly mobile business professional just embarking on a lucrative career.  Thirty years flew past, and I suddenly found myself unemployed.  Trying to maintain some semblance of sanity while conducting a C-level job search in a rotten global economy; I needed an outlet for all of my pent-up energy and frustration.

Fate stepped in gently one morning as I read a post in one of my “socio-professional-networking-sell you something you do not need” website communities.  It was a blog post from one of the members.  The words I read were not going to win a Pulitzer Prize any time soon; but they were sincere and heartfelt.  Perhaps what I admired the most was that this individual had found the courage to share her thoughts with the entire world!

Within days I had signed up on a free blog posting site.  I was not looking for a global audience or the fast track to the Newbery Medal’ I simply needed an outlet for my creative ambitions.  Now, several months later, I find myself with a daily readership in the thousands and fans from some three dozen countries.  Along the way I managed to publish two books, sharing my humorous insights into frequent flying and my inspiration found in everyday situations and events.  In short, I realized my dream.

Do not think for a moment that I will be taking an early retirement in the Caribbean; the result of massive royalties flowing into my bank account.  It is a rare few who are able to make a living as a professional bard!  Instead, I am enjoying the overwhelming fulfillment that comes from the art of creation through words.  I am relishing the fact that my outlook is touching the lives of others in such a positive way.  I am finally living my fantasy!

All of us are given gifts that were meant to be shared with the world.  We spend a tremendous amount of time and energy denying them.  There are a plethora of reasons why we choose not to embrace those blessings that have been bestowed upon us.  Each of us is too busy tying to make a living, there are household chores that must be finished, the kids need to be driven to soccer practice, our favorite reality show is coming on next; and the list goes on endlessly!  In the process, we cheat ourselves out of the joy of sharing who we are with others.

So when the postman rings your doorbell, will you ignore your gifts and simply mark them “Return to Sender?”

About Jerry V. Dollar, Author, Humorist, Observer of the Human Condition

When not trekking around the globe, Jerry Dollar can be found in Colorado Springs, CO where he lives with his wife Robbi. Besides an affinity for writing and travel; he is also an avid bodybuilder, a very prolific reader, and an enthusiastic observer of the human condition. Jerry has published two books which are available on: Lulu, Amazon, Kindle, Nook, and IBook. "Announcing a Flight Delay" is a hilarious recap of the author's experiences as a million mile flyer. "A Dollar's Worth" is a collection of observations on the human condition, which originally appeared as blog posts. Dr. Dollar has served in various senior executive management capacities over the past 25 years. He has previously worked within the healthcare, insurance, software, and several other high technology industries. Jerry is recognized for his expertise in creating the foundations for emerging organizations to succeed in complex sales environments. He is also well known for his leadership in guiding technology companies through rapid growth phases. Jerry speaks five languages and has conducted business in over 70 countries on six continents. He holds particular expertise in the Latin American and Western European geographic areas. Dr. Dollar holds a BA in International Affairs, a BA in Spanish, an MBA in Marketing, and a PhD in Organizational Development. He has authored numerous professional articles, various training courses, and has conducted seminars and conferences around the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Return to Sender

  1. Connie says:

    Very refreshing observations on the human psyche. I am currently looking for a new “job” and continually am amazed at the range and intensity of emotions I experience, and at how quickly they can change when I direct my thoughts in any one particular direction. Thanks for bringing a smile and good memories to this day!

    • Connie,

      It is challenging to find new work in a troubled global economy. The best that we can do is to persist and to keep up a positive attitude. I am thrilled that I was able to serve you through my simple words. I am blessed (or cursed) with the ability to extract deeper meaning from everyday situations and events. If I can share the inspiration I find with others; then my purpose as a writer has been fulfilled!

      Wishing you all of the happiness that life has to offer!

      Jerry

  2. John Fox says:

    Great post. Well written, Jerry.

  3. Hello Jerry I enjoyed your post. It had a bit of warmeth to it. I agree that we should take time to operate in the gifts we are given which is why I am an inspirational/motivational writer. We spend alot of time letting life slip away from us instead of embracing it. If you have time check out my site at http://www.rhythmoenergy.com. Feel free to leave a comment if you like and have a great day:)

  4. You are right, Jerry. Sometimes we do get lost in trying to earn a living and however miserable we are in it, we stick to it. It’s safe, it’s a cheques, there are bills to pay. But I guess that destiny is never held back for long:)

    Thanks for the post:)

  5. Hey there just wanted to give to a motivational boost and encourage you to keep doing what your doing. It can be a bit challenging sometimes but we are great writers in the making and great writers never give up they just find a different way to express what they’re saying.LOl

Leave a Reply

