It is All in the Cards

I am not one for superstition, having received a healthy dose of the sciences as part of my formal education.  Late night television commercials for psychic services manage to put a doubting smile on my face.  To my way of thinking, the Universe is ordered and we are all masters of our own destiny.  Still I think of the Reagan administration with its use of an astrologer and I have to pause to wonder.  Perhaps great men and women cannot help but yield to the temptation of superstition and seeking knowledge of the great unknown!

About a month ago I was off on a new early morning adventure.  My hound dog was leading me down a dirt path that winds through a greenbelt.  Actually, there is not much green to it; given that it is lined with natural high mountain plains vegetation.  Coming around a blind bend, my eye caught something lying in the middle of the path.  I looked down to see an ordinary playing card.  Staring back up at me, a smug smirk on her face, was the Queen of Spades.  I reached down, inspected the tattered card, and slipped it into my pants pocket.  There was no reason to leave that piece of litter for somebody else to pick up.

When I got home, the card was pulled out of my pocket and set down on the nightstand.  For over a week, it lied there virtually forgotten.  As I was retiring one particular night, I caught sight of the tattered paper member of royalty.  As I stared at the card, my mind drifted off to the world of fortune-telling.  Since there was not a single gypsy to be found anywhere in the neighborhood, I opted for the next best thing; a Google search!

Depending upon which source you considered authoritative; my newfound acquisition held meaning ranging from abundance to egregious loss!  Either I was now open to injury or I was a clear-sighted and determined person.  After a few more minutes, I was more confused by the meaning of the card than before I hit the “search” button.  I trudged back upstairs to the bedroom and tried to get to sleep. 

Tossing and turning in an attempt to find just the right spot for some deep slumber; my mind was still racing wildly.  I tried to remind myself that practices such as Tarot readings and horoscopes were simply self-fulfilling prophecies.  If somebody told you that you were about to have a bad week; you would simply have a bad week.  If the daily column stated that your astrological sign was in for the best day of your life; suddenly the Captain Crunch in your breakfast bowl tasted just a little sweeter!  Mercifully I drifted off to images of myself receiving my first Pulitzer Prize for creative blogging.  Hey, it could happen!

Eventually the playing card got buried under a collection of bills, offers for reduced life insurance, and several magazines that I swear I never subscribed to.  Several weeks later, we found ourselves visiting my mother-in-law who lives about an hour south of us.  The Catahoula-Plott Hound princess was tugging at her leash as she discovered a new treasure at the base of a thick bush.  Staring over at the new-found object of her desire; my jaw dropped.  Right there on the ground were two playing cards, lying face-up!

I picked up the Ace of Hearts and the Nine of Diamonds cautiously.  My eyes darted up and down the street, fully expecting to see the “Candid Camera” film crew hiding in a parked van.  At the very least, somebody had to be playing a gag on me.  The two cards snuggly tucked away in my pants pocket, we continued with our walk.  As soon as I got back to my mother-in-law’s house, I intended to Google the meaning of the obscure mystical sign that I had just been given from the other side!

It did not take long to determine that the newest additions to my mysteriously growing card collection were positive in nature.  Still, the specific interpretations of what these cards foretold were all over the map.  I was still trying to comprehend how Google had brought back hundreds of thousands of results for my two simple queries!  Added to my Queen of Spades back home, it seemed that fortune was indeed smiling upon me!

What was I thinking?  Was some carnival sideshow mentality taking over my thoughts?  Then it struck me!  There is a lesson in the cards for all of us.  Will we allow fortune to smile or frown upon us?  Or rather, will we smile or frown upon our own individual destiny?  We are indeed the masters of our own fate, but only when we make that conscious choice!

Now cut the deck, and let’s deal those cards!

About Jerry V. Dollar, Author, Humorist, Observer of the Human Condition

When not trekking around the globe, Jerry Dollar can be found in Colorado Springs, CO where he lives with his wife Robbi. Besides an affinity for writing and travel; he is also an avid bodybuilder, a very prolific reader, and an enthusiastic observer of the human condition. Jerry has published two books which are available on: Lulu, Amazon, Kindle, Nook, and IBook. "Announcing a Flight Delay" is a hilarious recap of the author's experiences as a million mile flyer. "A Dollar's Worth" is a collection of observations on the human condition, which originally appeared as blog posts. Dr. Dollar has served in various senior executive management capacities over the past 25 years. He has previously worked within the healthcare, insurance, software, and several other high technology industries. Jerry is recognized for his expertise in creating the foundations for emerging organizations to succeed in complex sales environments. He is also well known for his leadership in guiding technology companies through rapid growth phases. Jerry speaks five languages and has conducted business in over 70 countries on six continents. He holds particular expertise in the Latin American and Western European geographic areas. Dr. Dollar holds a BA in International Affairs, a BA in Spanish, an MBA in Marketing, and a PhD in Organizational Development. He has authored numerous professional articles, various training courses, and has conducted seminars and conferences around the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

