Triple Exclamation Mark

All writers come with a healthy dose of ego.  For us to create our stories, put down our experiences, and share them for the entire world to react is bold, to say the very least.  I chose to write in order to entertain and inspire perfect strangers who might come across my words in their cyber-journeys.  If I can elicit a smile, if I can garner a knowing nod of the head, if I can inspire someone to better their life or the world around them; then my purpose as a writer has been fulfilled.

As a blogger, I receive quite a bit of feedback on the short tales that I craft.  Most of the comments are positive and I amazed at how many people are willing to share of their experiences.  All you have to do is open the door, providing others with a forum to express themselves.  Therein lies the inherent beauty behind creation; you better yourself by helping others to better themselves.

I recently received a rather scathing note regarding one of my blog posts.  Being an open-minded individual, and always willing to better my work; I took the response to heart.  It seems that this individual took issue with the fact that I use a healthy number of exclamation marks in my blog posts.  He referred to one particular article I wrote and was quick to point out that my exclamation marks took away from the story itself.  Of course, he also did not care for the story or my style as a writer.  But then again, he did read it!

Setting aside whatever demons drove this person to lash out at my work; I reread the blog post that he referred to.  I had to give him credit; I did indeed use more than my fair share of exclamation points in that specific blog post.  Being the bigger person, I reread all of the over fifty blog posts I have written.  Son-of-a-gun if they were not also saturated with the “evil exclamation points, set to take over the writing world in a villainous plot to undermine the English language and all that is sacred in the craft of the wordsmith!”

My writing is the result of an inner inspiration that I cannot explain, much more even begin to understand.  I am compelled to take everyday situations and draw the deeper meaning in them.  The need to share these insights with the world is overwhelming.  My grammatical fortitude or my choice of punctuation is only secondary to the message.

All of us are given one page on which to write the story of our life.  Each of our pages are then carefully bound into a book, where they are shared in a massive tome of some seven billion pages.  It is called the “Book of Humanity.”  If we are fortunate, our story will be read by many others, most of whom we will never meet.  If we are blessed, our story will touch some of those strangers and perhaps inspire them to better things!

As you write your page for this universal volume, ask yourself a simple question.  “How will my life be punctuated?”  Will it be filled with simple periods, showing that I merely existed in this world?  Will it be filled with question marks, because I feared learning who I was and sharing the precious gift of human connection?  Or will it be rife with exclamation marks; illustrating the passion that I hold for life and my burning desire to connect with as many individuals as my lifetime will allow? 

You are the only editor for the story of your life.  There is no commercial audience waiting to purchase your words.  There will be amateur critics waiting to debase your page in that great book; but they really do not matter.  What is important is that you remain true to yourself as you share your wondrous story with the rest of us.

As for me, I am really looking forward to burning out the exclamation mark key on my computer keyboard!  Oops, there it goes now!!!!!!!!!!

About Jerry V. Dollar, Author, Humorist, Observer of the Human Condition

When not trekking around the globe, Jerry Dollar can be found in Colorado Springs, CO where he lives with his wife Robbi. Besides an affinity for writing and travel; he is also an avid bodybuilder, a very prolific reader, and an enthusiastic observer of the human condition. Jerry has published two books which are available on: Lulu, Amazon, Kindle, Nook, and IBook. "Announcing a Flight Delay" is a hilarious recap of the author's experiences as a million mile flyer. "A Dollar's Worth" is a collection of observations on the human condition, which originally appeared as blog posts. Dr. Dollar has served in various senior executive management capacities over the past 25 years. He has previously worked within the healthcare, insurance, software, and several other high technology industries. Jerry is recognized for his expertise in creating the foundations for emerging organizations to succeed in complex sales environments. He is also well known for his leadership in guiding technology companies through rapid growth phases. Jerry speaks five languages and has conducted business in over 70 countries on six continents. He holds particular expertise in the Latin American and Western European geographic areas. Dr. Dollar holds a BA in International Affairs, a BA in Spanish, an MBA in Marketing, and a PhD in Organizational Development. He has authored numerous professional articles, various training courses, and has conducted seminars and conferences around the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Triple Exclamation Mark

  1. Hi Jerry

    As a writer I sympathise, I too have been at the mercy of those with too much time on their hands and who feel the need to faciliate my English language education by commenting on every spelling error (typcially they come from the US and I’m British) and every misplaced punctuation mark. When I’m writing a blog, I’m having a conversation with my imagined audience and the writing style I adopt reflects this. When I’m writing a book it is a very different matter and then the style reflects the medium in which the words are being presented. I find that I have little time for those who don’t appreciate the nuances used for different audiences and methods of delivery. Good luck and I hope the writing goes well in the future. Linda

    • Dear Linda,

      Thank you for sharing your experiences with the world. We writers are a curious lot. We possess the courage to put our innermost thoughts on paper (or the computer screen). We relish the art of creation merely for the sake of creation. We bare our souls as we publish our work for the entire planet to see. Then we sit back and wait for acceptance from our audience. I have to believe that “writer” and “masochist” are somehow cross-referenced in the dictionary. The true beauty is that when we stay true to our craft, it is only ouselves that we have to satisfy!

      Wishing you all the very best that life has to offer,

      Jerry

  2. Kathy says:

    Jerry,

    I really enjoyed this post. The pastor at our church always asks, “What kind of story do you want your life to be?” and it is true that we make or break how others “read” us.
    Great post…(also like your blog header graphic…(I’m using the same :>)..on one of the blogs I write.
    Check it out at http://thislittlechristiangoestomarket.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

