Operation Buy Loads of Garbage; Code Name “BLOG”

Before anybody gets their dander up; allow me to preface by stating that I am a global marketing professional.  I have designed every kind of marketing vehicle imaginable and have approached both businesses and consumers.  My work has yielded positive results and I have helped many a start-up company leap to the next level.  Now my soul has been cleansed, I have confessed, and I hope I have your absolution.

When the Internet first took society by storm, I was thrilled.  Now we had a way to share worldwide research instantaneously!  I could browse the libraries of the world and make virtual visits to museums located in faraway lands.  I also had a wonderful way to connect with friends and colleagues through the use of email. 

That was surpassed by text messaging, which now allowed me to harness technology in near real-time!  Then I was thrilled to see that I could video chat, across the Internet, using my laptop and its built-in camera, microphone, and speakers!

It did not take long for the magic fairy dust to fade away.  The Internet quickly became just another marketing vehicle!  Advertisers found a way to reach millions quickly, and at a lower cost than traditional marketing.  Websites dotted the entire cyberspace landscape and anybody who could afford to have a website built was in business for himself. 

Search engines allowed me to filter out the merchants from the sources of information that I sought!  It did not take long however for these sellers to mask their websites with the camouflage of keywords and SEO.  Now if I wanted to cyber-visit the Prado museum in Madrid; first I had to wade through an ocean of travel packages to Spain, specially reduced DVDs that featured video tours of other museums around the world, and even the links to the Prado’s online store! 

I had pretty much resigned myself to the fact that marketing and sales had ruined the Internet experience, when the Blog surfaced!  There was the answer!  At last there was a way for people to share their thoughts and experiences with strangers from around the world!  The knowledge that each of us was gaining in life could now be melded into a collective wisdom!  Perhaps there was indeed hope for the future of humanity!

I began visiting countless blogs, trying to devour every tidbit of inspiration that I could find.  It amazed me just how many of these blogs were focused on very narrow topics.  It quickly became evident that these online journals were nothing more than thinly veiled sales pitches for whatever product or service the author’s company happened to sell.  Once again, the evil Sales and Marketing Empire has spoiled the online experience for me!

Now we have evolved into an even more alien concept; blogs are being written by key executives, to be featured on their company websites.  So let me get this right.  I am going to visit your commercial site, wade through a barrage of your latest offers, open up a blog written by a company sales insider, be enthralled by what you are trying to sell me, click a link, and gladly pay for my purchase online? 

I think it would be simpler to just pick up the phone, dial an anonymous offshore call center, ask for a bored telemarketer, and ask them what they have to sell that I cannot live without!  I prefer to get my mindless dribble served over the phone, rather than on my PC.  At least I can strike up a conversation with the person on the other end of the line!

About Jerry V. Dollar, Author, Humorist, Observer of the Human Condition

When not trekking around the globe, Jerry Dollar can be found in Colorado Springs, CO where he lives with his wife Robbi. Besides an affinity for writing and travel; he is also an avid bodybuilder, a very prolific reader, and an enthusiastic observer of the human condition. Jerry has published two books which are available on: Lulu, Amazon, Kindle, Nook, and IBook. "Announcing a Flight Delay" is a hilarious recap of the author's experiences as a million mile flyer. "A Dollar's Worth" is a collection of observations on the human condition, which originally appeared as blog posts. Dr. Dollar has served in various senior executive management capacities over the past 25 years. He has previously worked within the healthcare, insurance, software, and several other high technology industries. Jerry is recognized for his expertise in creating the foundations for emerging organizations to succeed in complex sales environments. He is also well known for his leadership in guiding technology companies through rapid growth phases. Jerry speaks five languages and has conducted business in over 70 countries on six continents. He holds particular expertise in the Latin American and Western European geographic areas. Dr. Dollar holds a BA in International Affairs, a BA in Spanish, an MBA in Marketing, and a PhD in Organizational Development. He has authored numerous professional articles, various training courses, and has conducted seminars and conferences around the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Operation Buy Loads of Garbage; Code Name “BLOG”

  1. urvi says:

    Jerry,
    You defined the problem best! It is very disheartening that people over-use and abuse the blogosphere to sell products/ services rather than information and knowledge about their subject. I have trained my brain to learn 3 things about the author before I read her/his blog: Workplace (usually jumping to ‘about me’ section saves time), date of the blogpost (the internet has garbage bins, too) and (may be this is a preference) I read the last paragraph first.
    –Urvi

Leave a Reply

